Poets logo

vision

the sky is a rainbow.

By LJPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

The sky is blue and the grass is green.

But what on earth does that truly mean?

If my vision’s hazy and yours is 20/20,

Then my world’s rather blurry and yours is plenty.

Colors reflect the beauty of life,

But I wonder if yours are different than mine?

When I see orange as the sun sets each night,

You see the heavens encompassed in white.

Colors are relative depending on moods;

Happy is yellow, and sad is blue.

I’m sensitive to emotions; empathy is piercing,

While you’re apathetic, emotions are missing.

Colors enhance the works of art,

But know, our creativity is oceans apart.

I summon feelings straight from my heart,

While you paint by numbers, and then, restart.

Colors are rare when you tune into music.

They aren’t visible to eyes, and to ears, they’re muted.

But yellow’s in my head when I listen to Soul,

You see nothing but darkness, black as coal.

Colors define who we love and choose,

But flags, when they fly, can incite a ruse.

Mine may be pink, and yellow, then blue,

But yours is of Stars and Stripes, tattooed.

Either way, the sky is a rainbow.

That’s what I feel and think and know.

I am unique and you are tradition.

Maybe try Lasik for your vision.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

LJ

22-year-old songwriter turned Vocal writer of random sh*t. In the wise words of Hannah Montana - "life's what you make it, so let's make it rock."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.