Poets logo

Victory Run

Pain, Pride, and Pleasure

By Rowan Finley Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Savvas Stavrinos

Run, just as fast as you can. You can't catch me, I'm the fast man!

Speed and chase. My shoes have long since been laced.

Better start the clock. Because my record is gonna rock.

See the wind ripping at my clothes. My breathing ever grows.

Heart rapidly pulses. Legs constant convulses.

Powerful muscles flexed and stimulated. Cannot show I've forfeited.

Spandex tight and secure. This race is mine and that is for sure.

Sweat pouring forth from every avenue. This race I will get through!

Ankle falters on loose rock. Elbows shove and try to knock.

Faster, faster, faster! This race will be no disaster.

Winning is in my heart. This I knew from the beginning start.

Fight for it! Then, when all is over, you can rest and sit.

The finish line is within eye's command. See the crowd in the stand?

Push and push, now! I must allow, allow!

Breaking the ribbon so salty-sweet! Victory, victory, the others beat!

Collapsing and rejoicing for the training paid off. Breathe in and cough.

I made it and now the cool medallion will rest. On my proud, manly chest.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.