Poets logo

Victim of Self Destruction

Who Needs Enemies?

By Annie Edwards Published 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Victim of Self Destruction
Photo by GR Stocks on Unsplash

Who needs enemies when I can’t even be my own friend?

Known for the grace I extend to others, but for myself I will not bend.

To others, I’m a provider of enlightenment and hope.

Meanwhile, I’m desperately dangling from a worn and tattered rope.

My pleas for help seem to go unheard,

leaving me feeling hopeless and deterred.

I am the victim and the perpetrator .

I need my own facilitator.

Simultaneously playing both of those roles

will ultimately take a destructive toll…

I’ve become an unconscious prisoner of my own tormented brain;

an agonizingly chaotic emptiness that would make anyone feel insane.

So again I beg. Again i plea.

“Please. Will SOMEBODY help me?”

Again, I scream. Again i shout.

“I must escape. I must get out.”

But the truth doesn’t care how you feel.

Its only concern is with what is objectively real.

And the truth is, I have a destructive addiction;

most of my pain is a product of my own self infliction.

Who needs enemies when I can’t be my own friend?

It looks like I have a relationship to mend..

Stream of ConsciousnessSong Lyricssad poetryperformance poetryMental HealthBallad
2

About the Creator

Annie Edwards

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    A feeling I completely resonate with. "Meanwhile, I’m desperately dangling from a worn and tattered rope." - such a simple, but a cut-deep type of line. Lovely poetry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.