Poets logo

Vibrantly Pale

By Jasmin Nicole

By Jasmin NicolePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Vibrantly Pale
Photo by Melissa Labellarte on Unsplash

The color of me, truth be told, is simply pale.

First, a pale blank space, now covered in alabaster lines.

One slice at a time, sewn up quick.

To save a child truly sick.

Smooth and white on ivory skin, scars left to show what's been.

Invisible now and again, till the light catches those glimmers of skin.

A part of me, down to my soul.

Whispers and glances never cease to take their toll.

Yet I stand proud, tall, and whole.

Thanks to those lines that tethered my soul.

Keeping me earthbound and breathing life into a child.

Allowing for life to grow, free and wild

Into a being that could soar

I’m more than pale when my cheeks heat

A pink hue covers me

Whether from laughter or embarrassment

Or my nervous body acting like a freak

Dots of red speckle my cheeks.

Yet it fades away, leaving my color seemingly absent.

Yet truth be told, my color is pale.

Every color is needed to fill the world.

Pinks and blues and purples and greens

Blacks and browns and yellows and creams.

Each and every color tells a tale.

Color is pride and mine is simply vibrantly pale.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jasmin Nicole

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.