Poets logo

Velvet Blades

A poem adaptation

By Grace DowneyPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
Velvet Blades
Photo by Isaac Mehegan on Unsplash

Palms pressed

to woven blankets under folded legs

bleeding warmth from sun and hand and feet.

Fairytale, cerulean blue skies grazed by rolling clouds.

A twig snaps. Insects sound. The fan whirls.

Lazy lungs drag the bearable humidity

settling like the dew, a familiar melody.

A bag rustles. Teeth crunch. The screen door slaps.

Fidgeting fingers sweep to the edge, seeking

bouncing resilient grass once, twice.

Finger pads slide up velvet blades

pulling, testing, wrestling to stay rooted. Snap.

The sun retires.

A bird whistles. The radio crones. Children giggle.

It surrounds, squeezing the most of short twilight hours

before a balmy night herds us inside.

A mosquito buzzes past my ear. I wait for the sting.

The wind caresses my cheek. Jeans rustle. Boots scuff.

Night bathes me, greeting me once again

radiating past my skin, taking residence in my bones.

I’d happily drown if you'd allow it.

A trickle of sweat plays, sliding down sloping spines

resting in the waistband of my jean shorts.

Gentle wind combs the leaves as hands reach, grabbing air.

Eyes open to fading light and an empty lawn.

The porch swing croaks. Insects sound. The fan whirls.

Warmth bleeds yet I stay a moment more.

One more.

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Grace Downey

An artist, graphic designer, creative human, and secret Margaret.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brin J.about a year ago

    I love this. This is a winning piece right here.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.