Poets logo

Valedictory Poem

Where the wild flowers woo the sun...

By prashant sapkotaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Valedictory Poem
Photo by Vivek Doshi on Unsplash

Lay me low, my work is done;

I am weary. Lay me low,

Where the wild flowers woo the sun,

Where the balmy breezes blow,

Where the butterfly takes wing,

Where the aspens, drooping, grow,

Where the young birds chirp and sing,

I am weary, let me go.

I have striven hard and long

In the worlds unequal fight,

Always to resist the wrong,

Always to maintain the right.

Always with a stubborn heart,

Taking, giving blow for blow;

Brother, I have played my part,

And am weary, let me go.

Stern the world and bitter cold,

Irksome, painful to endure;

Everywhere a love of gold,

Nowhere pity for the poor.

Everywhere mistrust, disguise,

Pride, hypocrisy, and show,

Draw the curtains, close mine eyes,

I am weary, let me go.

Other chance when I am gone

May restore the battle-call,

Bravely lead the good cause on

Fighting in the which I fall.

God may quicken some true soul

Here to take my place below

In the heroesmuster-roll,

I am weary, let me go.

Shield and buckler, hang them up,

Drape the standards on the wall,

I have drained the mortal cup

To the finish, dregs and all;

When our work is done tis best,

Brother, best that we should go,

I am weary, let me rest,

I am weary, lay me low.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

prashant sapkota

I am a young passionate blogger, very passionate to learn about , something different, on research

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.