Poets logo

In Childbed

Mother's spirit came and spoke to me...

By prashant sapkotaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
In Childbed
Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

In the middle of the night

Mother's spirit came and spoke to me,

Looking weariful and white -

As 'twere untimely news she broke to me.

"O my daughter, joyed are you

To own the weetless child you mother there;

'Men may search the wide world through,'

You think, 'nor find so fair another there!'

"Dear, this midnight time unwombs

Thousands just as rare and beautiful;

Thousands whom High Heaven foredooms

To be as bright, as good, as dutiful.

"Source of ecstatic hopes and fears

And innocent maternal vanity,

Your fond exploit but shapes for tears

New thoroughfares in sad humanity.

"Yet as you dream, so dreamt I

When Life stretched forth its morning ray to me;

Other views for by and by!" . . .

Such strange things did mother say to me.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

prashant sapkota

I am a young passionate blogger, very passionate to learn about , something different, on research

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.