Poets logo

Vain Frost

Chilling out with Winter and his buddies

By Rachel DeemingPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Vain Frost
Photo by Giu Vicente on Unsplash

You have finally arrived

And as usual, you sugar coat everything.

You would choose a day when the light is perfect!

Vain, conceited frost.

Even the pigeon, the butler of birds,

Perched on the greening fence

Has his appearance heightened:

His feathers rivened on his grey tailored coat,

His back declaring his vigilance;

His profile clearly demarked in the sun,

As he squints or basks, I'm not sure which.

Your arrival means I can see my breath.

Everything is delineated:

The dips and swirls in the grass

Where its weft and weave

Have been combed by the rake

All individualised, made their own

By your cold attention.

They are stiff with it but look better for it:

Groomed.

Like Hokusai, you show up the waves.

Leaves curled, show their death

More clearly: white contrasting brown decay.

The sun is searching for you

And I know you:

You will not hide.

You will revel in your temporary presence,

Showy and glistening

Until Sun's weakening warmth

Liquifies your hold,

Knowing that you will reappear better, thicker

And last longer as Winter's darkness,

Your accomplice, shadows our world

And dismisses the Sun.

Nature's Terminator,

Born to be melted and reform.

You will pattern and crisp,

Crystallise and fracture.

You will make mornings longer

As your icy touch is fended off

And exhaust billows puff the air.

I dislike your cold

But I admit: I like your style.

There is no denying the beauty

Of the paleness of your skin.

***

I sort of like frost and I sort of don't. It is beautiful, there's no denying it but it also means it's cold and whilst I like the crispness of days like today, I dislike the inconvenience of defrosting my car and thinking about wearing layers and searching for that forever elusive pair of gloves.

I tried to capture that mixture of feelings in this poem.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please comment as I love to know what my readers are thinking and interact with you.

surreal poetryperformance poetrynature poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    I am in love with the way your words painted the picture and conflicted feelings of this chilly time of year. What gorgeous language. Quite a lovely poem :)

  • C. Rommial Butler7 months ago

    Very, very well-wrought! And synchronistic for me, as my oldest daughter and I were just remarking to each other not long ago how the cold air brings clarity to the horizon and freezes the world in a halo of pure light! You really hit the nail on the head here! Thanks for sharing!

  • Real Poetic7 months ago

    I love a good nature poem, but this one is excellent!

  • Beautifully delicate & clever… “the grass… weft and weave … combed by the rake.” I love cold weather, but frost burnt grass isn’t so pretty… sadly, always a price to pay.

  • I loved that you said the pigeons are the butler of birds. I too feel snow is so beautiful but I would just straight up freeze and die if I experienced it. Lol. Loved your beautiful poem!

  • Salman siddique7 months ago

    it was amazingly beautiful

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Great poem. 👏 🥶 I too think I’d only like its style rather than the results.. we don’t have that problem here.. at least not where I’m from. 😊

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    But I admit, I like your style. Me too. Like a cat, vicious, and gleamingly beautiful, unabashedly what it is.

  • Test7 months ago

    Beautiful exploration of nature -Loved the image of the pigeon as a butler. Now I've ssen it, I can't unsee it! I feel similarly about frost but it is indeed very beautiful in a tragic kind of way 🤍

  • D. J. Reddall7 months ago

    The ghost of Samuel Taylor Coleridge must be grinning at this poem. "His back declaring his vigilance;" is as precise a description of a particular, avian posture as I have met.

  • Test7 months ago

    I think the poem does a great job of portraying the intricate connection between humans and nature.

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Great imagery 💕❄️

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.