Poets logo

Vacation Posts

A Facebook-Posting Poem

By Judey Kalchik Published 29 days ago Updated 29 days ago 1 min read
8
Author's Photo/Key West 2017

"I have 25,563

unopened emails

in just my Gmail account."

Author's photo/Key West

"I don’t remember the peel off masks from the 70’s causing so much pain

On the other hand,

Now that the top layer of skin has been ripped from my face,

I bet it will feel very smooth once the swelling is gone....."

Author's photo/Key West

"Snorkeled.

Didn't die.

Pleasantly surprised."

Author's photo/Key Largo

"Parasailing was awesome!!!!!!!

Now we celebrate!

We're on the Sloppy Joes bar cam for the next twenty minutes or so.."

Author's Photo/Key West

"Second snorkel trip. Still alive.

Go figure.

Jumped off the boat this time.

Every day there is something not to be scared of.

Ken tells me I should bring that back home with me and remember it."

~~

Ken and I took a much-delayed honeymoon in the Florida Keys in 2017. Thanks to the wonders of Facebook Memories, I get to relive my posts from that week every year.

This 'poem' is made up of my photos and posts from that week. I'm writing it to help me remember that every day, each and every day, there is one more thing not to frightened by, not to be scared of. No matter how it feels at the moment.

Comments welcomed.

GratitudeStream of Consciousnesssocial commentary
8

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen28 days ago

    I have never snorkled...so there you go...so brave...enjoy all the great moments that you can, these days that is of utmost importance. Have fun and stay alive.

  • Didn't die. Lol 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your poem!

  • Cathy holmes29 days ago

    This is lovely, and what a wonderful manta. Nicely done.

  • Lovely record of memories… fun when FB pops photos up from a few years back… I like it when it cobbles together an album.

  • Andy Potts29 days ago

    I'm always surprised how much I enjoy FB memories. Lots of lockdown stuff at the moment, which brings some mixed feelings but also plenty of nice family stuff when suddenly we had lots of time and not much else.

  • Babs Iverson29 days ago

    Fantastic memories, Judey!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • JBaz29 days ago

    I thought I had a lot of unopened emails...whew. I am so glad you survived snorkling the first time then tried again. Memories are great, thanks for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.