Poets logo

Used to

Back then

By Tera SummersPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

You used to text me ”can I come over” every single day.

You used to have the whole world in your hands and you thought I was just another card to play.

You used to dance too high upon

The pedestal I put you on.

You used to stay with me, we would write down our plans.

Then your mortality would cross your mind and you’d be gone the next day.

You used to say I'm forcing you to make decisions you weren't ready to make.

You used to say you need to go, you need to grow. You not just leavin’ for leavin’s sake.

You used to think I was a grey area and gave me all your demons in the dark, black.

’Till I made friends with them, you thought it was hilarious so you took a few back.

You used to treat me like I was replaceable.

Just like I tried replacing you.

Like I thought I was unbreakable,

’till you ’bout broke me and I found that wasn't true.

You used to have me waitin’ on you.

While you did your number 2

’Till you found out I am the only 1 for you.

You used to worry about the chatter from outside critics,

About where we’ve been.

But you knew we had nothing too broken that we couldn't fix.

You used to say if there was a plight the two of us could scale it.

If there was a fight to fight we’d always prevail it.

When it comes to love we’ll never fail it.

You used to tell me open my eyes and dream.

So I'm living my life with you beside of me.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Tera Summers

Ive been wringing since I was like 7 or 8. I love to write about all I have experienced. I want to thank you in advance for your reads and support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.