Poets logo

Uprooted

Awon omo mi sonu!

By RL StevensonPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Ode to the Diaspora

Emi, Mo wuwo!

Me, I am heavy!

***

My children, where have you?

They have removed you from home.

Iya abandoned her search.

***

The Watchmen are sleeping.

***

Awon omo mi sonu!

My Children are missing, O!

***

My loneliness travels along

the dusty veins.

Emotions scramble to find shelter.

***

Peace, in pieces,

I am a broken dish,

in the corner of the potter's house.

Yemoja, I cry for my children.

***

Emi, Mo wuwo!

Me, I am heavy!

Awon omo mi sonu!

My children are missing, O!

***

Awọn koriko ododo mi ti ku!

My flower pastures have died.

See, my tree, you are born.

***

The buds still wander along the petiole.

***

The roots still reach high,

but the intersections have retreated.

***

Ogún wa ti sọnu!

Our heritage is lost!

***

Emi, Mo wuwo!

Me, I am heavy!

For the land of Ebony is where you belong.

Ode
4

About the Creator

RL Stevenson

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    You weave the two languages together so well, I can't imagine the poem without both. I feel they're both integral to the main theme you present here, loss (of so many things), and even though there is repetition across translation, it creates a harmony. Beautiful read, heartbreaking and heavy with grief. I'm not usually so touched. "Peace, in pieces, I am a broken dish, in the corner of the potter's house. Yemoja, I cry for my children." Goodness, what a poignant metaphor. Gorgeous work!

  • This was so poignant. I especially loved the repetition of the lines!

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    This is very good! Yoruba? Interestingly, I was doing research on the Esan language this morning for a poem that is formulating in my mind.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.