Poets logo

Unwinding

a poem for healing relationships

By Amelia MapstonePublished 3 months ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
1
(falling in love mid-covid & mid-air)

My beloved friend,

how could I dress your wounds

when I hadn't healed my own?

This is how hurt people hurt people…

We come so close our wounds get wound up,

rubbing together and before we know it,

we’ve formed a blood pact.

I did not dress your wounds,

but wore them as a dress,

and made us a mess.

But what if we clean our cuts,

transcend the trauma of lust,

cauterize karma between us?

Maybe then, my beloved friend,

we would never hurt each other again.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Amelia Mapstone

Word-lover / wild woman sharing poetry and prose inspired by the Logos and Life 🙏🏼 🤍 🕊️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Gargie S Anand3 months ago

    Lovely!

  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Very heartfelt

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.