Poets logo

Untouched

Defining Love

By J.M. PowellPublished 2 years ago ā€¢ 1 min read
Like
Untouched
Photo by Claud Richmond on Unsplash

The world has it wrong

When it comes to love

It is described

With selfish and negative words

Nobody ever questions it

Maybe that is why most relationships fail

The subconscious foundation is flawed

Love is not falling

It is rising

Love is not crushing

It is being whole and expanding

Love is not first about what you get from it

It is first about what you give

Because when you're whole

You don't need to take or receive anything

By Julia anseele on Unsplash

When you smile

I see myself untouched

By the pains of the world

Past, present, and future

When you smile

I am whole

With or without you

When you smile

I am on an even road

With the horizon ahead

When you smile

I want to be whatever you need

Even if only a forever friend

One you can always rely on

I just want to give you everything

love poems
Like

About the Creator

J.M. Powell

You can make anything by writing. -C.S. Lewis

My passion is to spread what it means to love.

My published books of poetry: Quantum Leap Overmorrow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.