Poets logo

Untitled

a poem

By Matthew FrommPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
23
Untitled
Photo by Ruben Ortega on Unsplash

So please understand

This isn’t just goodbye

This is I hope you burn

Like Hamilton’s letters

A vain buried reference

Lost on your ignorance

Like any thoughts of us

Dug down six feet under

Where your only company

Is the ghost of you

Or of me

Of some chiseled empty corpse

You found hollow solace in

I don’t care.

I’d call this closure

If I thought it was deserved

Instead, it’s a swift kick

to a black coffin lid

So please understand,

This isn’t just goodbye

This is I can’t stand you.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N

Italics lines sampled from +44's No, it isn't, an all time favorite of mine.

You can check out the rest of my works below:

sad poetryheartbreak
23

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to write it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wishing to be found.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    This is excellent really well written, you can feel the anger.

  • Chloe Gilholy4 months ago

    I loved this really felt the anger in it.

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    I found this darkly amusing (I hope that’s alright) and impactful! Great job! 😊👏

  • Test8 months ago

    I read this a couple of didn't have the words. Stll don't really. But beautifully written and so much gritty emotion. Captures so much 🤍

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    SO much to love here, Matthew. My favorite part is the following lines: "I’d call this closure If I thought it was deserved Instead, it’s a swift kick to a black coffin lid" Something about the sound of it is so fricking satisfying: "kick" and "lid" perhaps. Or the assonance of the short 'i' in "swift" "kick" "coffin" and "lid." The content is of course, rife with emotion; super relatable, and also, extremely evocative for the reader. I love that you included song lyrics, too. What a clever idea! Bravo on this!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    You whipped them at the end!!! Powerful poem!!!

  • Damning Anger, great words

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Having experienced that kind of anger over someone for years, I can tell you this: Once you let go of the negative emotions, it's as if a ton of bricks were lifted off your shoulders. With that said, it's a powerful poem!

  • This was so sad and extremely relatable! I wanna hand out this poem to all those people who have wronged me! Lol!

  • Obsidian Words8 months ago

    How to politely say F*** you and the horse you rose in on. Love it! Very succinct. (watch my read all your damn stuff now)

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Oh my. Tell it like it is. This is powerful. Well done.

  • this genuinely hurt my heart to read, making it one powerful poem… ! The meanness.. The coldness…. Ouch ouch ouch. It probably didn’t help much that the reference is indeed lost on my ignorance 🙈😂🙏🤍✨

  • Mark Gagnon8 months ago

    Sooo, I guess this means you really didn't like this person, right?

  • Very strong and powerful... Excellent work Matthew!!!

  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    I love the fact that this is "Untitled", which connotates the disregard to the deceased. Great song choice too! 😉

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    A very cutting and stark in memoriam. Excellent work!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    wow, dark, sad

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    BAM! Not a lot of holding back on this one! Great job, Matthew!

  • Cindy Calder8 months ago

    Whoa....that about sums it up, for sure! Loved the blunt, full-blown imagery of your point.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Beautiful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.