Poets logo

Until forever

Oak tree

By SJ CoveyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
13
Until forever
Photo by Josie Weiss on Unsplash

Sturdy oak, a tree to climb.

Carve our names, 2 make u mine.

Branches protect us from the storm,

This becomes our norm.

Push our children on its swing,

What will tomorrow bring?

Scatter your ashes around it’s roots,

I discover pain which strikes me mute.

Each day I come to stand and talk,

Oh how I miss our country walks.

I cry, I weep, I cannot speak,

I’m growing tired, I’m becoming weak.

The world seems empty, a baron land,

Without you here to hold my hand.

There is nowhere else for me to go,

My hair is greying, I come to show.

Your voice in the wind, whispers to me,

I’m coming my love, coming to our tree.

Thank you for reading, I’m an awful poet so apologise to all the incredible poets out there. The mood just took me to write this. I would love if you would read some more of my stuff and tell me your thoughts. SJ

heartbreak
13

About the Creator

SJ Covey

FamiLIES, SJ's debut NA book was released 20th Sept 2023.

If u like what u have read please subscribe & leave a heart.

You can follow SJ on

Twitter

https://twitter.com/SJ_Covey

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/SJCoveyAuthor

sjcovey.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    This poem is beautiful! Just keep writing poetry, and you will develop and evolve your own style.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Beautiful poem! Thank you so much for sharing. :) Very emotional; loved it 🥰

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I loved this! From first love to the end and after. How beautiful :)

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant and beautiful!!! Loving it💕😊❤️💕

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Every now and then I read a poem that gets me in the feels. This is one. Beautiful, emotional piece. Well done.

  • Julie Buchyabout a year ago

    Sarah, amazing!!!❤️ Filled with emotion and imagery. My mind's eye sees it all unfold from beginning to end. LOVE ❤️❤️❤️

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    You have some beautiful lines. I love this one, " Your voice in the wind whispers to me." Well done

  • This is purely lovely Sarah, I love the title, wonderful image and words to match it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.