Poets logo

Untethered

A poem

By Joelle E🌙Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
25
Untethered
Photo by Mohamed Ziyaadh on Unsplash

I want the whirring flames to stop

I want to find myself again

I want to feel my feet touch earth

I want to call myself a friend

So many nights, wasted in pain

Over a weak, malicious lie

Told by my own mind, to myself.

A barrier that blocks the sky

Where is the truth I once contained?

Where is the clarity inside?

Where is the force of my own will

That not even my fear could hide?

Where is the certainty of life

That force that holds us to the ground

The gravity I’ve so long lacked.

That will be where my peace is found

I lost myself along the way

I made a deal–he took the lot

That devil voice that lives inside

That turns your sense of self to rot

Now, spinning out, I grasp at straws–

Some string to tether me to Earth

A gold thread leading back to me.

A knot, tying me to my worth

Where am I?

Where did I go?

This is the first time that I’ve asked

I’ve had my head buried in sand

While meanwhile, seven years have passed

But maybe our estrangement’s why

This lying voice is haunting me–

Self, tether me back to myself

And help me realize I’m free

heartbreakCONTENT WARNING
25

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Samuel 5 months ago

    Creative.

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    So very heartfelt and creative. Raw emotions needing answers, I feel your words and send wishes for strength and enlightenment. Congrats of TS.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Very powerful beautiful poem!

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    Beautiful poem, Joelle! Your deep introspective thoughts are out of this world. The journey of this piece is beautiful! Love these lines: “So many nights, wasted in pain Over a weak, malicious lie Told by my own mind, to myself. A barrier that blocks the sky” Just all the yes! Then the realization at the end…an incredible grand finale!!! Bravo on this stellar piece and on top story! Missed you in your absence and happy to see you back! ✨🫶🏼✨

  • Sasi Kala5 months ago

    wow beautiful poem super mam.

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    Beautiful and aching, my friend ❤️

  • Earth & gravity as a binding of a sense of self to self. Interesting metaphor. To become grounded vs. remaining lost. Only once tethered do you realize that you're free. Mind-bending, thought-provoking. Walkabout. Journeying seven years through the wilderness to find yourself.

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Powerful and so well written. Meter, rhyme, pacing - everything flows so well. I'm glad it ended wit a bright outlook. Another amazing poem, Joelle!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    This is so emotional and yeah...you are so gifted when it comes to wriitng about deep stuff, Joelle. Well done on this one. Relatable and quite hard hitting, but loved the positive note that it ended with.

  • This made me so emotional! Loved your poem! Hope you're doing well. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Test5 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️

  • Test5 months ago

    Absolutely amazing poem. Best wishes with you hope you on top

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    I hope you find what you’re searching for. 💕

  • Andrew C McDonald5 months ago

    A lovely poem about pain and finding yourself. Nicely done. Note on the first line … I want to the whirring flames to stop … delete the word ‘to’. 💕😊💕

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.