Poets logo

Unsuspecting Eyes

I Walk Past The Love I Used To Hold

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Unsuspecting Eyes
Photo by Nathan Lindahl on Unsplash

Unsuspecting eyes meet

I ask myself,

"What is he doing here?"

next to me

Someone I cared for so deep

Standing there

mouth agape

gaze incomplete

I walk past the love I used to hold

Within his expression

emotions untold

but I push forward

eyes ahead

I have to make sense of what's in my head

His eyes scream

what lips won't speak

There's something hiding underneath

Cocoa eyes struck with grief

The things left unsaid

in the silence they scream

Confusion

studded between my ears

"Is there something he wants to say to me?"

"Is there something behind the face fear?"

He's standing so near

but I feel the absence of him here

So I walk past the love I used to hold

chin up

eyes forward

My heart sinks deep

like an anchor sinking in the sea

My emotions swell

like the tide

under the full moon's breach

I walk past the love I used to hold

he keeps his cards hidden

but this game I fold

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.