Poets logo

Under A Spell

The Date

By Jean Carlo TaverasPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Under A Spell
Photo by Lorenzo Lamonica on Unsplash

I want your loving today

Because tomorrow is too late

So put your dancing shoes on

We’re going on a date

The way the sky glows at midnight

That’s the way you look here tonight

There is something here though

That I know is just not right

Who am I to think, “We’re meant to be?”

I’ll fix us a drink and then we’ll see

Who am I to think, “You are the one?”

Girl, it's really been too long

If I called your phone would it ring

If you were all alone would you be well?

I guess we’ll never know about this thing

‘Cause you got me under a spell

I trip over what I say

Things aren’t going my way

A couple of hours gone

And when the bill comes I’ll pay

I take you back to your place

Because it’s getting late

You tell me where to park

‘Cause we don’t have time to waste

Who am I to think, “We’re meant to be?”

I’ll fix us a drink and then we’ll see

Who am I to think, “You are the one?”

Girl, it's really been too long

If I called your phone would it ring

If you were all alone would you be well?

I guess we’ll never know about this thing

‘Cause you got me under a spellq1

We walk in

To your place

And I kiss

Your face

The whiskey

That I chased

Mixes with

Your taste

Engrossed

I take notes

Of your Do’s

And your Don’ts

But if we

Get too close

Would you say

Adios?

If I called your phone would it ring

If you were all alone would you be well?

I guess we’ll never know about this thing

‘Cause you got me under a spell

If I called your phone would it ring

If you were all alone would you be well?

I guess we’ll never know about this thing

‘Cause you got me under a spell

Who am I to think, “We’re meant to be?”

I’ll fix us a drink and then we’ll see

Who am I to think, “You are the one?”

Girl, it's really been too long

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.