Poets logo

Unbreakable

Tough By Definition

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
13
Unbreakable
Photo by dylan nolte on Unsplash

Unbreakable they call her - yeah, there's nothing she can't do

But I've seen her break 100 times and never say a word

Unbreakable, they call her - yeah, tackles what she's goin' through

Takes what they're dishin' out and comes up swinging, undeterred

I wonder if they’ll ever know just what that word really means

Shattered - standing tough, still trying, grasping at her seams

YEAH

Unbreakable

surreal poetryinspirational
13

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    I like the fighting, persistent spirit in this, despite all the obstacles in the way. “ Shattered - standing tough, still trying, grasping at her seams” is a wonderful line too😊

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    My psyche feels this on so many levels. Broken 100 times over, still rising to the challenge. Yes, unbreakable in spirit, only the body shows the wear and tear. Well said.

  • Sandra Tena Cole4 months ago

    Powerful and lovely!! ❤️

  • This was extremely powerful! Loved your poem!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is great. Well done, my friend.

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Powerful!!! Wonderfully written!!!

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Beautiful poem! I love it!

  • Like Cliff Claven demonstrating his martial arts expertise after being humiliated by another patron of Cheers. He offers to walk Diane Chambers to her car as he says to her, "I've never taken a karate lesson in my life. I think I broke my hand & have a concussion. Could you help me up the stairs? I don't think I can make it." (paraphrased, of course) Never let them see you sweat, as the ad says.

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    This is so powerful❤️❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.