Poets logo

Two Souls Know the Truth

A Story of a Love Torn Apart by Toxicity

By Lizzy RosePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6

Try as I might I cannot say

that if you showed up at my doorstep

I would not sit down with you on my couch,

hold you close and whisper the world away;

I cannot say

that I haven't longed to hear

those three little words pass your lips

while looking into my eyes, as they once did.

My dear, how I have wished

on every shooting star,

every 11:11 minute each night

that you would remember.

I used to think love was stupid.

That finding someone you could be your true self with,

and still find a life of happiness and acceptance

was more impossible than flying pigs.

To this day you will tell everyone

of those flaws you used to love,

say my true self was too much it tore us apart.

Only two souls on this entire Earth know the truth,

only one brave enough to speak it aloud.

Was I angry? Rightfully so.

Was I hurt? More than I was angry.

But isn't that the norm? Hurt, Angry, Betrayed.

So, why was my raincloud so much darker?

Why did my winds become a raging hurricane?

Why did I become the very same venomous snake

that poisoned us before.

Because two souls knew the truth,

and I am brave enough to speak it aloud.

I am not sorry for what I have done.

I never will be.

I am sorry for the person you stole from me,

the person you made me become.

I am sorry for the pieces you shattered,

that will always have chips and splinters

marring their once-pristine surface.

I am not sorry for you,

because you will never be sorry.

Because only two souls know the truth,

and you were not brave enough

to speak it aloud.

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Lizzy Rose

Hello! I'm Lizzy, a poet and fiction/fantasy writer. I've been creating fiction since I was a child, making up and acting out stories. I started writing my stories when I was 9, and poetry when I was 11!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.