Poets logo

Two

Tell me, if you know, does it hurt when you're shot through the heart?

By Kayla JeffersonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
You too me, and killed the girl I was pretending to be.

you took me

and killed the girl

i was pretending to be

it didn’t hurt

because she was never me

the front was fierce

you bought it in full

swallowed it even

and i played into it

as if it were the truth

i apologize

for never letting you meet her

you wouldn’t have liked her

i didn’t

but how could i possibly introduce you

if i too didn’t know her

two identities, both foreign

and both lay battered

bleeding

in the aftermath

tell me please

if you know the answer

isn’t it supposed to hurt

when you’re shot through the heart?

If you liked this piece, check out my other poem titled "Take Me To My Grave". Tips are appreciated, but NEVER expected. Thank you for reading!

love poems
2

About the Creator

Kayla Jefferson

I am a 23 year old writer based in Houston, TX. I write short, creative fiction, true crime analysis, and poetry. I hope you find something you like here in my world. Tips are not expected, but appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.