Poets logo

Twisted Labyrinth

A response to Randy Baker’s Poetry prompt and an Inverse poem for Vocal’s Challenge.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
9
Twisted Labyrinth
Photo by photo nic on Unsplash

A slave to your twisted labyrinth

I don’t believe that I am

Worthy of the best

I whisper to the cascade mirror

What a shock this is going to be

The velvet lies you’ve screamed before

You tell me I am ugly

What you serenade in letters

I do not believe

You are wrong

As ethereal as you want me to be

An chained enigma, perhaps

I am not your perfect Labyrinth Angel

🌟 (Read from bottom to the top)

I am not your perfect Labyrinth Angel

A chained enigma, perhaps

As ethereal as you want me to be

You are wrong

I do not believe

What you serenade in letters

You tell me I am ugly

The velvet lies you’ve screamed before

What a shock this is going to be

I whisper to the cascade mirror

Worthy of the best

I don’t believe that I am

A slave to your twisted labyrinth

inspirationalBallad
9

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Loved it!!♥️♥️💕

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    I dream of travelling to many more countries, love your poetry and the free spirit of positivity. Happy travels.

  • Whoaaaa, you executed this soooo brilliantly! It works so well both ways!

  • Oh, wow, you knocked out two challenges with one stone! Excellent work!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Perfect response to both challenges. This is truly amazing. Well done.

  • Paul Levinson3 months ago

    Outstanding! "Labyrinth" was the one word I didn't use in my response to Randy's challenge. Good for you getting it in the title, as well the beginning and the end, perfect for a labyrinth.

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Oh bravo, Chloe! Love that you used Randy's prompt and concocted an entry for the Inverse challenge too. Both versions are very powerful, especially the reverse! Great work, loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.