Poets logo

Twin Flame

a journey i never wanted

By Kye EarleyPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
a page in my grimoire inspired by this situation

Barefoot in the driver's seat,

legs crossed against the steering wheel,

I remain parked outside my lonely

apartment, sucking on a cigar

and savoring the burn on my lips.

She is at her house, abusive

husband and three darling

dogs to run after. My throat

is sticky and closing, words

swallowed in smoke, streaks

like residue down my cheeks.

I must be a masochist,

a self-proclaimed twin flame

suffering over the silver-plated

ring she wears even when

she tells me she does not love him,

even when he hits her, berates her,

every time she still chooses him.

Not for love, she tells me, but

she cries when she threatens to leave,

and I cry when she decides to stay, forever

a second choice to even the woman

I've loved for every lifetime before this,

to even the soul that I share.

Maybe I'm the one who puts myself

second, who hurts me and leaves me

to rot. I can swear up and down that

I love me, but chaos speaks louder

than poetry, half scribbled in the sliver

of flickering streetlight peeking

through my blacked out windows.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kye Earley

I'm a 23 year old creative. I write, act, make youtube videos (search CoffeeCat, you'll find me!). I also really really love cats. I do magic and tarot, so those themes sometimes slip into my work. Oh, and I'm secretly a mermaid.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.