Poets logo

Twilight

The Golden Hour

By S. A. CrawfordPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
33

There is a space between sleep and the world,

where shadows come to life.

In the cocoon of the dawning night,

old whispers come to heavy ears,

bright and teasing.

Liminal and sublime,

there is no gravity here.

Only the seeds of hopes -

and the ghost of old fears.

To navigate these waters night on night,

with the sun blotting out the North Star,

is a feat...

But there is no might in dreaming,

nor in waking from the fitful half-sleep to see the spectres of old faces in a painting,

a tangled heap of clothes.

Peeking from behind the cracked door.

No shame in wanting,

in longing for the times before.

I miss the monsters under my bed,

and the terrors of childhood.

They never left me weeping for someone who will not come home.

They never left me so utterly alone.

sad poetry
33

About the Creator

S. A. Crawford

Writer, reader, life-long student - being brave and finally taking the plunge by publishing some articles and fiction pieces.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Asa Moni12 months ago

    Amazing image, Twilight?? saga??

  • Brenton F12 months ago

    This is brilliant! Congrats on the TS!

  • Rob Angeli12 months ago

    Beautiful, lucid but drifting.

  • So easy to read this poem. It flows beautifully. "I miss the monsters under the bed." I relate. I miss a wolf. :)

  • Veronica Coldiron12 months ago

    Wow! I love your elegant prose and knack for painting images with words. This particular line was awesome to me: "spectres of old faces in a painting". GREAT poem! Just... wow!

  • Nosrat Jahan Tickly12 months ago

    💛💚👌

  • Utkarsh Sinha12 months ago

    The line, 'I miss the monsters under my bed,' stands out, highlighting the nostalgic desire for simpler fears of childhood over the complex pains of adulthood. Great work!

  • Nesou12 months ago

    🌌✨🌙 This poem mesmerizingly explores the realm between sleep and wakefulness, delving into nostalgic memories and haunting emotions. The vivid imagery creates a captivating atmosphere, while the longing for the past and acceptance of fears resonate deeply. A thought-provoking piece that invites introspection. 🖊️🎭❤️ Great job

  • Sincerely Rob12 months ago

    “I miss the monsters under my bed” Oh yea, you snapped on that one 🔥🔥

  • Sherry Atkinson12 months ago

    After reading I had to subscribe. Painfully beautiful.

  • Alyssa Nicole12 months ago

    This is such an emotionally beautiful poem!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh12 months ago

    "I miss the monsters under my bed ..." This poem unpacks this in such a poignant way. You have a new subscriber!

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Oh, I love this! I love the title, because twilight has multiple meanings. It can be that period between daylight and nightfall, or a period of descent in someone’s life, like the sun going down. I loved this part: “In the cocoon of the dawning night, old whispers come to heavy ears, bright and teasing.” That’s so powerful. Cocoon makes me think of transitions, just like twilight, but the old whispers being bright and teasing make me think this is about the type of nostalgia that hurts. Then, “I miss the monsters under my bed, and the terrors of childhood,” drives that home. We all go through a period between childhood and feeling completely grounded and secure within ourselves. A period where we are adults, and expected to fend for ourselves, but emotionally we’re not ready. And nobody talks about it. Thank you for this poem, and congrats on Top Story! 🥂

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    You had me at the topic TWILIGHT. Then the poem lived up to it's name. This is really lovely.

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    So thankful Ian shared this piece today as it's a really relatable and beautifully penned poem. Well done on this :)

  • Beautifully written 📝 💖😉👣

  • Ian Read12 months ago

    This is a truly beautiful piece that led to a direct blow to the childhood. I too sometimes wish for childish dreams 😀. So very well done!

  • Kim Loostrom12 months ago

    That hit close to home, lovely and sad! Truly a beautiful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.