Poets logo

2 am

Thundering Silence

By S. A. CrawfordPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Image: Mo Eid via Pexels

Silence -

Can you hear it?

Not the absence of sound,

but the unique rolling hiss of nothing.

You leave silence when you go,

and though I hear the hush-hush of your breath,

the whisper of skin on sheets,

the murmur of deep sleep thoughts...

It feels like a death.

At 2 am silence and I are like old friends.

The moonlight may as well fall on empty sheets,

because where you sleep is silent.

The fresh breeze smell that clings to them only mocks the day,

and I cannot see the light in that faraway place -

Because the wall of night is solid.

I can press my lips to it and taste the crisp dawn,

and kid myself it won't be long.

And wait out 2 am as it ticks by,

in thundering silence.

But the hour will be drawn across my skin like a knife.

I guarantee it -

and the pain will be nothing compared to the quiet of life

waiting to begin.

In shades of grey,

I can see it.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

S. A. Crawford

Writer, reader, life-long student - being brave and finally taking the plunge by publishing some articles and fiction pieces.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧about a year ago

    Beautiful! As someone who struggles to sleep, I am intimately familiar with 2 am. :) Thank you for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.