Poets logo

Trying to Escape

Some things you can’t run away from

By Megan OsbornPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Trying to Escape
Photo by Sonia Kuniakina on Unsplash

Bury the thoughts

Put them deep down inside

I reject them my self

I wish them away

The feelings, the hurt.

The want and the pain.

I can’t accept it

I can’t rectify it

To open up would be to validate it

To expose my soul

Like an open wound

It’s much too vulnerable

It would only bring ruin.

So I dig and I dig

To bury them deep.

Where no one can find them

But they find a way

They resurface when I sleep

I run and I run

And I try to escape

My own mind is chasing me

My own mind, I hate

I dig and I dig

But it’s never deep enough.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Megan Osborn

I love hiking, traveling, baking, and spending as much time as possible outside. Writing has been a hobby of mine for a long time and I'm excited to share it with the world.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Megan OsbornWritten by Megan Osborn

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.