Poets logo

Trust Love

a poem

By Kale RossPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
6
Trust Love
Photo by Eduardo Goody on Unsplash

The man with the banjo

told me to trust the song.

The woman with the rifle

told me to trust my resolve.

The child with the book

told me to trust the words.

The painting without eyes

told me to trust the art.

Now I must convince the

man in the mirror to trust

his heart...

...

...Falling for you felt as

natural as the leaves in autumn.

Sinking with speed, my toes quickly

melted into the sands of your heart’s ocean bottom.

Using both feet, I was able to plant love

where it had been long forgotten...

...waited a moment, then swam

to the surface in time

to watch it blossom.

slam poetryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirational
6

About the Creator

Kale Ross

Author | Poet | Dog Dad | Nerd

Find my published poetry, and short story books here!

https://amzn.to/3tVtqa6

https://amzn.to/49qItsD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mary Haynes7 months ago

    I love the two parts of this poem. Both parts stand on their own but pair together beautifully!

  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    The first part of this poem was SO good - loved the ending, too.

  • Andrea Corwin 7 months ago

    Lovely!! 💕

  • Sweet piece🧡😉✌️🍂📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.