Poets logo

Truer Lies

A Poem of Encouragement

By Laxmi WoodhamPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Like any other person

Who is alive and breathing

I have my own beliefs

But they're just what I believe in

I could list my references

Cite all of my sources

Would that really be convincing?

Or would you just ignore this?

The world is so full of lies

Many people selling stories

Who's to say my word is trusted,

But will you read this, please?

Through some lessons, rather rough

Here is what I've learned:

Show respect when it's requested

Only give if it's been earned

My advice is simple

Stop and ask yourself

"Why should I believe this?"

It can only help

In this opinion multitude

Beliefs can start to blur

Asking yourself "Why?"

Catches motives less than pure

Question what you're told

Before jumping to believing

Many truths are clothed in lies

Purposefully deceiving

If the person talking to you

Has something to achieve

They'll go through amazing lengths

To get you to believe

"This pill can make you skinny,"

"Girls will love this truck,"

"New and Improved," often means

Someone's out to make a buck

It's the nature of the world

Don't let it get you down

Let the lies slide off you

Truth lets you stand your ground

You must learn how to decipher

Amidst conflicting views

All the world has to offer

And what, of that, fits you

Only you can know it

Only you can see

The desires of your heart

And how they'll best be pleased

Now there are some desires

That can place you in a rut

Bodily wants, for instance,

Rarely lift one up

But desires of the soul

Those can truly bring

Happiness on Earth

Your spirit longs to sing

Its little part in this great song

We all share together

Right now we are out of tune

But that won't last forever

If those who've struck their note

Helped those stuck in the wrong key

It might take a little while

But we'd all find Harmony

Begin within yourself

Learn what resonates

What evokes true love in you

Making sadness dissipate?

You must learn to fight for it

There is no easy way

To truly live your life

To make your spirit great

Yes, you'll have to work

But finding work you love

Makes the hard parts easier

Than money ever does

Don't get me wrong, I'm no saint

I've got material desires

But working hard to please my mind

Is just a goal that's higher

I'm hoping for success

And if I tell the truth

Fame and recognition

Would be an ego boost

More than that, I truly want

Reconciliation

I wish to see Earth's children

Freed from sad conditions

I believe it's possible

I really, truly, do

Some may call me crazy

But we already have the tools

We have enough materials

To share with everyone

We simply must grow up

And let greed be overcome

This young world only needs

Some more time to mature

Then we can learn to conquer

Brutal human nature

Anger and aggression

Only stem from fear

Once we understand some more

It won't feel scary here

Perhaps my optimism

Is entirely misplaced

But I mind my own views

My mind's at peace this way

So I keep on believing

For me it is the truth

With a smile on my face

My love can act as proof

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Laxmi Woodham

Word wrangler, sentence constructor, and eloquence inspector, working tirelessly to entertain imaginations around the world! (Code for randomly scribbling notes and ideas as I quarantine my way through long pandemic days.)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.