Poets logo

True Romeo

famous line

By Dalia DavisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
from Baz Lurhmann film Romeo and Juliet

TRUE ROMEO

I have searched for true love in vain

while it thrived beneath my own breath.

I have called for Romeo, looking in the eyes

of passers by, whose beauty wooed me.

Yet fleeting has it been, the answer to this cry.

My passion is too wanting for such a fallible love.

Eternal summer and the verse that does not fade

is hidden in the place where human life is played.

Where Juliet can breathe untamed,

without external love's refrain, with everlasting inner gain.

This is the place where my passion has been quenched.

The place where my poetry falls, not on deaf ears,

but echoes a ballad that does not stride

the rough wind of a lover's pride.

Within this eternal space and time

our heart's are filled with endless love sublime.

My poetry can sing it's heart felt rhyme,

and "where for art thou?" is just a famous line.

Dalia Davis Sept, 09

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.