Poets logo

Truce

just for tonight - a poem

By Merrie SandersPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Truce
Photo by Josh Cris Gayle on Unsplash

Can we not?

Just for tonight,

put downs our swords

and give up the fight?

Stubborn is fine,

part of who we are,

but it's been

burned to a crisp,

the color of tar.

Rehashing what's said,

reframing what's been,

but I can't do this

again and again.

My head so full

of broken promises and things,

I wake scared to see

what next the day brings--

an ambush or call,

reading into much more.

Clawing and panic,

pounding under the floor.

I know you're not sleeping--

and that doesn't help--

but my voice disappearing,

with a tear or a yelp,

rips and tears at the seams,

inside

out.

To rebuild a foundation

without fear, without doubt...

There's plenty to process

and more still to do,

but I have faith now

that we will find a way through.

I wish we could toast,

cheers the anger away.

Rest on a bed of forgiveness

and forever there stay,

but it's not a straight line,

and I know,

laying stagnant and content

is not how we'll grow.

I don't have a map

for this road we're on now,

And while far from ideal,

our teamwork allows

us to look forward together,

and only ahead,

resting in comfort

knowing the truth in words said.

Regret in my soul,

deep buried inside,

but to let go of that now

to bridge this divide.

To start anew,

to the past and the pain,

let's call a Truce.

sad poetryStream of Consciousnessperformance poetryFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Merrie Sanders

Writing for fun and as an escape from the everyday. After all, what is life for if not to create?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    This is beautifully written and so honest. Gorgeous work. I appreciate your vulnerability in this. 💗

  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    I can feel how tiresome it is to continue the fight through the poem. Very well written and flows well too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.