Poets logo

Redacted

an ode to anything I've ever written that has not seen the light of day

By Merrie SandersPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4

To all my words living in volumes redacted,

relics of moments and feelings transacted,

preserved in pages not to be opened,

poems long erased from truths outside spoken,

value and meaning, your service complete,

forever alone on those pen-stained sheets.

The solace I found when once I made you,

now only an echo of all we’ve been through.

To alter the altar where I once kneeled,

to mend all the layers once so expertly peeled.

Leave it behind, not to rust or to drown,

but merely retire six feet safe underground.

Secrets and chasms from deep in my soul,

now to be buried in that unfindable hole.

Such beauty exists in that forgotten prose,

but only curses there lie, like a thorn to a rose.

Hide under black, because I can’t bear the white,

proof you once were--messy scrawls of my fight.

Clandestine thoughts and shameful regrets,

to move toward renewal, to give it my best.

Where once I dwelled in perpetual potential,

now my demons I release into the celestial.

......................................................................

Farewell and goodbye my friends, redacted,

inspiration turned outward and refracted.

Free VerseStream of ConsciousnessOdeFor Fun
4

About the Creator

Merrie Sanders

Writing for fun and as an escape from the everyday. After all, what is life for if not to create?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    Love this Merrie! Your skill with words here is on full display, and like both the imagery throughout and the idea of all those words that never made it out of the draft. “proof you once were--messy scrawls of my fight.” is an excellent line 👏🏾

  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    Merrie, this is brilliant. "To alter the altar where I once kneeled" - amazing lines!

  • That final rhyming couplet lends well to being read aloud. Magnificent work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.