Poets logo

Triple Canopy Cub

Concrete Born, Brazilian Puma

By Isaac Haldeman Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
First Date

born in the jungle that refuses to slumber

this feline stays within Brazil’s numbers

both lay claim and indeed they should

of two lines she may choose upon reentry

and on every side she passes goes “ah”

strength of her snatch

made my retreating heart an easy catch

fleed not from her but from love

permanent spots that make her, her

put pursuit on my trail, gave me a scent

no hunter you see but adventure I seek

this jaguar lay on the beach

brave new set of lenses did to me preach

her and I could possibly form an “us”

now an inside joke so don’t fuss

I lay bundled up next to her peaceful rise and fall

I still can’t fully wrap my head or believe

that I’m her man and she’s my…

…no possessions you’ll find

just trying my hand at turning a phrase

she’s part of God’s plan

thirty two years young

happy birthday to self

gifted us both the getaway slip

into imitation heaven we did dip

like the mutual gaze denied man

in the song about the short, tan, young and lovely

we’re all dazzeled by the woman that is you.

so much so that when you pass we all say “ah”

how blessed I am for I smiled

and she did see. yea she does see.

she does see. yeah she did see.

there is now two in the time slot

previously only meant for “me”

for Papi

from Mami

Happy Birthday my love. Who cares if they don’t understand. I do. You do.

Code Breakers Welcome!

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Isaac Haldeman

NYC

I enjoy stories and telling them.

I’m the rich father before I am the poor artist.

Working on a novel. Why is it so hard?! ;)

@isaachaldeman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.