Poets logo

Trickery

Don't drink the poison

By TestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Trickery
Photo by Izzy Park on Unsplash

P.S. Skull in NZ/Australia means to chug (down a drink)

The devil offered me some poison -

I skulled it ravenously.

He said it would relieve the pain -

However, everything worsened.

My cranium was being attacked

with rapiers repetitively,

while the poison seeped and

steeped itself through the intricate

vascular bundles.

The sharp sensation in my crown

eased -

But my body transformed into a

corpse.

Thoughts were hateful -

And my actions reflected an eerie

silence -

My feelings deadened and

numbed.

I was no longer here -

I needed to get back!

I made a choice -

With my might and will -

I praised the people who

did me wrong.

Then the sky brightened,

the birds happily chorused and

the people who I had hurt -

Rekindled my love.

Outside was a garden of paradise and

triumph celebrated in laughter and play.

Listening to the sweet sounds of heaven -

New purpose and beginnings are granted.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.