Poets logo

Trepidation's Stage

To Act, or Not to Act?

By Haley M.T.Published 3 months ago 1 min read
Like
Trepidation's Stage
Photo by antonio molinari on Unsplash

"The show must go on!"

And yet I find myself saying that

I am a coward,

Searching for a moment to run.

My eyes glance at the curtains,

My ears hear the crowd's laughter.

The beating of my heart quickens.

In anticipation?

No...

In fear?

Why else would my stomach start to twist and turn?

My legs start to move without thought.

The nerves in my brain are constantly buzzing.

I must do this.

I have to do this.

Yet,

I can’t ignore the clamminess of my hands.

Everything has gone wrong and

I am a coward.

Yet I keep thinking that

Perhaps I can fix this?

Free Verseinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Haley M.T.

I'm just a simple day-to-day writer just trying to get by in life. No grand past or achievements, simply a Jill-of-Some-Trades enjoying a hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.