Poets logo

Trapped in What No longer Is

There are certain places in which you cannot stay for too long

By C.VPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2
The Fairy Ring by William Holmes Sullivan

I have never been good at detaching from the past, it likes to follow me. Questions that I left open come back to me whispering the sound of answers that I never really wanted to hear. Parts of me that I never wanted to confront. And here lies the inner contradiction: I am addicted to what I'm running away from. Does it make sense? Not quite, but feelings rarely do.

I believe each one of us is evolving at our own pace. The growing and expanding process never stops, even if it seems as if it has. However, "Why then?" I ask myself, "Why do I keep calling what is no longer here?"

Nostalgia some may call it. The deep craving for coming back to better times and the throbbing melancholy that comes with it. You see, I never learnt to measure the right amount of it to keep a healthy balance within my body. I usually overdose. My mind travels in time leaving my body cold and motionless, almost dead. I immerse myself in a continuous fantasy of joy and pain which serves as a temporary escape from a reality that suddenly seems too hard to bear.

I rejoice myself in the illusion of happier times and fall blindly into a fairy ring that keeps me from moving in the real world. I age rapidly but I do not grow old. That's the price to pay for leaving the now, and staying hidden in the dark corners of what once was and will never be again. Neverland was never cheap, especially for grownups who carry such a huge amount of memories within their pockets. It makes the return almost impossible.

There are certain places in which you cannot stay for too long. The past is one of them. Will we ever learn?

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

C.V

I have always felt things too much. Everything leaves a mark on me. Nothing passes through myself without adding something new to my very being. And here I am, sharing this journey with you. Thank you for reading me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.