Poets logo

The Aliveness of It All

A Remembrance

By C.VPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I’m gone, from this place and from myself. I still feel the energy from my surroundings, but it comes to me in a different way. My eyes sucked up by the infinity that awaits at the other side of the window. The unknown alluring them with a subtle, almost imperceptible, ancient spell. A remembrance of another life or perhaps, another self.

The bedroom is wrapped in the quiet darkness of the night and only the dim light of two flickering flames keep me company. The candles that sustain them are dark red and continuously dying. The wax does not resist the melting process, it embraces it as if being seduced by its own annihilation. There was a deep peace about it all, a transcendental relief brought by the faith in the infinite wisdom of the universe. I knew, no – I felt, almost immediately calmer by this sudden realization taught by nothing more than a couple of candles!

A minute after, as if hit by an invisible arrow, an old saying came to me: “the real magic is to reveal the ordinary as the ethereal.” The words echoed within myself and dared me to address the so called ordinary in order to prove its point. I look up, still facing the closed window. It was raining quite intensely but I opened it anyways. The raindrops fell fiercely all over me and my bed. I didn’t care. I kept staring anyway.

My head is almost totally outside the window at this point. I see the trees dancing violently and deliciously as the wind hurls and howls around them. The sound gives me shivers but I take his clamor as an invitation to move forward and fully experience the aliveness of it all. Lighting then makes its appearance to the scene, accompanied by the deep voice of thunder. It seems as if they all had planned it out and the party continued without interruption for what felt as many lifetimes.

Intellectually speaking, it all seemed foreign or even inhuman at some point. Way bigger than anything the human being could ever completely comprehend or control. However, speaking from deeper places, it felt just like home. There was a strong feeling of oneness and a familiar connection between every existing being in this world. “There is nothing ordinary about rain” I thought to myself, “there is actually nothing ordinary about anything if you know – or remember – how to look” I added .

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

C.V

I have always felt things too much. Everything leaves a mark on me. Nothing passes through myself without adding something new to my very being. And here I am, sharing this journey with you. Thank you for reading me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.