Poets logo

Transdimensional Dream Tickling

No NREM for the wicked

By Richard GwynnPublished about a year ago 1 min read

One night I dreamed my brain dry,

awoke dry lipped and eyed

and with long scratches on my back,

as though in dream I was picked for rough tickling

by some transdimensional thing and, waking,

wondered if damage by dream means

links between subconscious thinkers,

sleeping, umbilical, cannibal,

seeping fingernailed and druidical into one another's worlds.

That night I bathed in dream, awash with

Wave and wave and reams and reams

of places and things and

glaciers and forests and flight and

aortal plum sunsets, unreachable,

and unrepentant child's heart, grasping,

shooting above alien owl hoots,

naked, maybe.

Then I was an old vicar, vivid

flames churning my chapel

and I was cheery about it. And then I was

a serial killer, too, surreal and serene,

killing kids but also a kid, killed.

I awoke, sweat heralding need for a therapist

before breakfast, then trekked to the Shredded Wheats

and forgot about all of it, again, soon enough.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Richard Gwynn

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Richard GwynnWritten by Richard Gwynn

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.