Poets logo

Tragedy my Friend

When life visits in uncomfortable ways

By Dannielle NelsonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Crisis knocked on my door today.

She was crying.

I said “Come in dear. I will put on some tea for us.”

She shook her head and through tears explained how she ruins everything she touches.

I Insisted she come into my home.

She cautiously looked around, waiting for impending doom to cave the roof in around us.

I turned on the tea kettle.

Got out two mugs.

Her tears stopped, but with eyes red from sobbing she looked up at me.

Her face, carved with the deep fear of knowing too much suffering, seemed drained of life.

Before I had a chance to serve us tea, another knock came at the door.

Crisis began sobbing again.

“I told you! You should not have let me in!”

I have to leave before things gets worse!!”

With her head in her hands she exited through my back door.

The knocking continued.

So I went to the door.

Tragedy stood before me.

Shoulders slumped.

“Can I help you?” I asked.

“May I come in?” Tragedy asked politely.

I brought Tragedy to the kitchen table and explained that Crisis had just left.

“Yes, yes, that’s why I’m here.” Tragedy solemnly held the steaming cup I’d prepared for Crisis.

We talked for hours and I accepted the grim truths Tragedy had to share.

Tragedy drank the tea and left. We hugged. Then I cried.

I cried by myself at first, then I called my friend. She came over immediately.

Blessing did not knock. She tumbled through my door brimming with love!

She held me, I let go of all of my fears in her kind arms.

She reminded me that nothing could change my divine nature.

Circumstance does not define us.

I am loved.

And she left.

And I picked myself up and put the tea kettle back on the stove and contemplated her words.

Although Crisis comes into our lives and it can feel like a Tragedy while we walk through our fears, we are divinely guided in each moment so that we can break down, and be rebuilt. We have the choice to call on Blessing to come to our aid. That is our divine right and it is up to us to recognize it. Otherwise the struggle and suffering can be consuming.

The tea kettle whistled loudly.

I poured myself another cup of tea and sat at the table again.

And I smiled. I knew exactly what to do. And I was ready.

With Gratitude in my heart, I quietly gave thankful prayers for Tragedy my friend.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Dannielle Nelson

I have no taboo subjects. Buckle up & prepare for the journey! From Steampunk, reality, mental health, poetry, & eclectic philosophy. Enjoy.

I have 2 Websites where other works can be read.

Plant People Heal

Read More Live Better

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.