Poets logo

A Divine Presence

Mastery of the Self

By Dannielle NelsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

The place between reality and my longing. Hiraeth.

You live within my soul; on every action I take.

Stumbling or dancing, the part of me that always knows the way.

Regardless of mistakes, to which I kneel down and pray.

Reside in my heart, on my words, in my arms,

My lover, mother, family, friend, source beyond the stars.

Your ever living presence call to me, my fire keeper.

In times of dire apathy, you lift me away from the reaper.

Home is where the heart is, where you dwell in all your bliss.

Whether alone, with loved ones, or in life’s adventurous abyss.

The lighthouse in the storm, the umbrella in the rain.

The caress of a companion, in the loss of grief and pain.

Home is a lightning rod, to ground me through the torrent.

As well as the food that sustains me, during times of forced Lent.

Meager in stature, so simple by design.

It takes no money or hard work, but love truly Divine.

It is a place that I remember, though never quite reach in person.

Except for inside of myself, in every situation.

Hardship knows no boundaries; the curve balls take their toll.

With you, living inside me, I will know only love and share it with the world.

May this light shine within me, the mirror of Home.

The place we all return to, once our bodies are gone.

Twinkle in my eye, glimpse of the passionate fire in my chest.

Home is shared in an instant, when we remember to be our best.

So, smile at the stranger, forgive the hardest offense.

Leave judgement to the Heavenly Courts,

Show people Home in every act of kindness you commence.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Dannielle Nelson

I have no taboo subjects. Buckle up & prepare for the journey! From Steampunk, reality, mental health, poetry, & eclectic philosophy. Enjoy.

I have 2 Websites where other works can be read.

Plant People Heal

Read More Live Better

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.