Poets logo

Tracks and Tracing

Discoveries in places unfathomed

By Meredith HarmonPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3
A view of the Presidential Mountains, I imagine

Am I on top of the world?

Things seem strange from up here -

a mountain of my own making

shrouded in murky choices

my inclination to continue

surmounted with diligence

do I go left? right? or the trail unseen?

my sinuous path covered

writhing twisty wyrms, ideas made of fears

hissing, mocking my decisions

any mistake becomes a roadblock of doubt

hanging over an abyss

scramble, struggle, inch my way back to safety

pause, a breath, another,

a babbling brook trickles rhythms

against a rustling backdrop

clouds sweep towards me, the way grows dark and cold

progress fades into indecision

feverish scribblings journal my progress

howling in the dark impels me further

I run but I don't feel safe

scramble to safety, flimsy fabric against the dark

I am awash in sweat

my notebook is filled with ideas not there before -

Was it all a dreamscape?

Stream of Consciousness
3

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Not according to your notebook. Though if you're beginning from the mountaintop & you're not able to fly, may I suggest the pathway to take should lead down.

  • Toby Heward2 months ago

    Very creative

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.