Poets logo

Tracing the Path of Love's Pawprints

A Pet Lover's Tribute to A Loyal Dog

By DaphsamPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
7
Daphsam Illustration

You are as outgoing when the mood strikes you.

You are as playful until the toy's stuffing explodes in the air.

You are as loyal as Taylor Swift's fans, this is true.

You are as protective as the President's Secret Service.

You are as intelligent as Einstein, de Vinci and Tesla, (when you are in the mood, which is few.)

You are as friendly to all you deemed can be in the circle of trust.

You are as faithful as the rising sun and glowing moon.

You are as affectionate to all of your family, who absolutely love you!

I wrote this in honor of my Labradoodle, Duke, who is 8 years old. He is the love of my life even though I have three other dogs. There is something about duke that sets him apart from the others. Maybe it's the breed, could be the fact that we've gone through a lot of health problems with him. But there is something with him that had me draw this silhouette of him and write out all of these attributes that truly sum him up. So I thought it would be a fun way to write a list poem about how much affection I have for my Duke.

Thank you for reading.

This was originally posted on my website.

love poemslist
7

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Awww, Duke! Please give him my love and hugs! Loved your poem!

  • Jazzy 4 months ago

    What a wonderful ode to Duke! I sure hope he liked it

  • Delightful ode for Duke… what a darling dog.🤩 I’m just concerned that no dogs’ feelings were hurt in the writing of this story 🤣… hope the other two remain oblivious 🙃

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Awe, he sounds like a worthy recipient of an ode.

  • Labradoodles--beautiful, wonderful dogs. May you enjoy many more years together.

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    A very nice tribute, indeed! As with all "Best Dog Ever" stories, this made me take a long look back, which is both heartwarming and heartbreaking.

  • Mark Graham4 months ago

    Awww! I do not know what I would do without my Pokey a beagle mix.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.