Poets logo

Touching Hope

A poem

By Gal MuxPublished 12 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
41
Touching Hope
Photo by Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

Before I chose you,

I didn’t know how painfully sharp words could pierce

How deep their wounds would gouge

How altering the scars they left

When I chose you,

I didn’t know I chose

Slithering snakes hissing, wrapping themselves all over my body when I tried to move

Crippling spiders crawling, climbing up my feet each time I took a step

An owl hooting all night as I tried to rest

Salty water when deserted in the hot desert as I tried to quench my thirst

Rotten eggs broken and filling the air blocking my nostrils when I tried to breath

With you,

The ground beneath my feet was eggshells

Walls were sheers

Nightmares alive

With you,

The sun rained and the rain shined

Water blew and the wind ran

Fire fell and snow burned

Dandelions bloomed in winter

And lakes froze in the summer

With you,

I smelt fear

Tasted loath

Heard bitter

I saw pain

When I chose you,

I failed to see what was hiding in plain sight

Now I have chosen me

And I have seen the light

Without you,

I’m touching hope.

nature poetryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreak
41

About the Creator

Gal Mux

Lover of all things reading & writing, 🥭 &

🍍salsas, 🍓 & vanilla ice cream, MJ & Beyoncé.

Nothing you learn is ever wasted - Berry Gordy

So learn everything you can.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Tyson11 months ago

    The Art of Slow Living: https://tii.la/ArtofSlowLiving

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This is sublime. Really enjoyed this! Read it liked it and meant to come back to it, so here I am coming back to it. Congrats too on Top Story!

  • Health Intuits12 months ago

    Nice piece

  • All about the experiences of life because experience is the best teacher

  • Lindsey Altom12 months ago

    That was epic...touched me too. Reminded me of my last relationship. Loved this!!

  • hayaadnan12 months ago

    beautiful it is. ❤🌸

  • Heather N King12 months ago

    This is so beautiful!

  • Ahna Lewis12 months ago

    Impressive imagery and so many striking combinations of words. Great job with this Top Story!

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    I felt the raw emotions so clearly in this. My favorite line, 'Fire fell and snow burned'. What a really fantastic piece :) Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Gerald Holmes12 months ago

    Simply outstanding! Excellent writing, the ending is spectacular. Congrats on the top story and you have a new subscriber.

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    This is so beautiful and I love the ending ❤️❤️

  • Beautiful and Congratulations on your Top Story💖🎉✨

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    Beautiful top story congratulations 🎉

  • Lovely words , congratulations on your Top Story

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    Freedom is the best! Inspiring work! 😊✨

  • Whoaaa, that was such a powerful ending! It felt so liberating to be able to choose ourself and find the light. Loved your poem so much!

  • Carol Townend12 months ago

    Totally relatable, and well expressed!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Oh my. Wow! This is a masterpiece! I love so many lines, 'The sun rained and the rain shined' - you captured that dizzy feeling of love, what's up is down and what's down is up. Truly, great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.