Poets logo

Seeing the Light

A poem

By Gal MuxPublished 12 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
11
Seeing the Light
Photo by Wonderlane on Unsplash

Unlike me,

Carey wasn’t born blind

 

Sometimes when we sit outside on the rocking chair on a warm evening

She tells me of how blue the sky was in Africa

How blue the sea was when they went to swim

It leaves me wondering, how can two so very different things be the same colour?

Or the same thing be a different colour when she tells me that water is colourless

What’s colourless? Is it what I see? Or what I don’t see?

She says seas are blue because they reflect the sky above  but some seas are green I’m told and the sky is never green

They say it gets dark at night or when it begins to rain but it’s never green

And why aren’t rivers blue then?

 

She says a blueberry is blue too

And that an orange is orange and so is a carrot

I find it crazy as they taste so different

And this is because a green apple tastes very different from all the red apples I have tasted

She says onions have different colours but only on the outer side of their layers

And I could agree because some can have different textures even though I can tell they are all onions

When she brought Jackfruit back from the farmer’s market, I wondered why something that tasted so good could smell so bad!

But I felt it was rough on the outside. And so soft on the inside

They say it’s green on the outside and cream on the inside

I guess paradox is its thing

 

Carey says fire’s red, and so is blood

But different yet the same

That some people have red hair too.

She tells me mine’s brown and hers blonde

Also that her eyes are blue

How could she see the sky or the sea if her eyes are the same colour as them? I wonder

Oh! what a magical kingdom she transports me to with her stories

A world where everything seems possible

 

She tells me that babies look the same when they are born whether a boy or a girl

But I can tell you once they begin to babble I can tell  whether it’s a boy or girl

Just like I can tell when touched by a woman or when touched by a man

I can tell the handshake of a friend from the handshake of a foe

Or when our angry cat is about to charge

 

She says mirrors show you as you are

But that not all mirrors show the same thing

That a photo also shows you as you are but smaller

And that shadows show you as you are

But without the colours

What an intrigue!

 

How colourful my life has been since she came into it

She tells me I turn red when she says I’m cute

I usually wonder if it’s red like an apple or red like fire

I’d love to think it’s fire

As with her I feel like a flame

But careful enough not to burn the rose that she is

 

They say you are in the dark when you don’t know

And that you see the light when you know something new

I may be in the dark, but with Carey by my side, I see the light every day

love poemsnature poetryinspirational
11

About the Creator

Gal Mux

Lover of all things reading & writing, 🥭 &

🍍salsas, 🍓 & vanilla ice cream, MJ & Beyoncé.

Nothing you learn is ever wasted - Berry Gordy

So learn everything you can.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Miss^_^San9 months ago

    Your article beautifully captures the magic of perception and how different perspectives enrich our understanding of the world. Carey's presence brings a delightful enchantment, making every day feel illuminated. Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece! 🌟

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Beautiful and very revealing

  • Pauline Fountain10 months ago

    This certainly is a poem of love, nature and inspiration. Not despairing but filled with questioning and wonder. I was immersed in the World of the sensory beyond sight. ‘And that shadows show you as you are But without the colours’ Hauntingly beautiful. Thank you for writing Pauline 🌸

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    I cried a little. It’s so moving. Thank you for this. 🤎

  • Awww, this was so touching and wonderful!

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    This is very lovely! ❤️

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    What a beautiful perspective ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.