Poets logo

TOUCH

A Poem

By Heather HagyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
TOUCH
Photo by Claudia Soraya on Unsplash

My face was smooth and even

I remember you saying

you always liked that about me

your hands were so soft

they made more love to me

than your body ever could

(or ever would)

When I cried

your fingers traced the rivers

and wiped them away

I can still feel your touch

hand cupped under my chin

it always made me smile

sometimes, it still does

I savored the fleeting moments

your fingers through my hair

or across my lips

holding hands left me giddy

I thought I understood

what was on your mind

Then came the silence

my own hands, longing to love you

were turned away

slapped down, crushed

without warning

tender memories reduced

to painful echoes

Now I sit here without you

fingering strands of hair

occasionally wiping away a tear

or touching my lips in thought

it's so familiar

but I do believe lines on my face

are beginning to show

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Heather Hagy

Stephen King fan (but not like Annie "I'm your #1 fan" Wilkes cuz I'm sane and she's not)

Horror/supernatural are my favorite writing genres

Wife to 1 and mom to 4 humans, 4 dogs, 6 cats, and a dragon

"Jaws" is the greatest movie ever

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.