Poets logo

Tortured Soul

Soul Search'N

By Dana ToliverPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
photographed by Dana Toliver

Tortured Soul

Tortured soul

the heart you stole

broken down & devastated

after everything we've been

gotta set you free, again

it hurts too much now

to just be your friend

my head tells me to go

but my heart tells me to stay

Physically weak from this heartache

I'm emotionally & spiritually broken

with so much love to give

I need the strength of a mustered seed

just to hold on to my sanity

the sorrow I hold is too heavy a load

Like a moth to a flame, I see the fire

I have the desire

to want to help put out the flames

but every time I do I get burned

by the bugs attracted to my light

I'm tired of this fight

Is this all just a game?

am I asking for too much

I'm tired of standing alone

outside in the cold

please, won't somebody let me in

so I can warm my tortured soul

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Dana Toliver

I wrote my first poem in 1990 not relaizing it would be the beginning to my forthcoming book titled SOUL SEARCH'N; the story of my life journey told through peoms and short stories. The content I post here are from my book.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.