Poets logo

With You My Friend

Soul Search'N

By Dana ToliverPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
photographed by Dana Toliver

With You My Friend (Dedicated to Neftali)

I reached my hand out into the darkness

to guide you to the light

but instead I was pulled into the darkness

with you

I'd rather stay in the darkness with you

than live in the light without you

my heart could never bear the loss of losing you

that's how much I love you

till the bitter end you are my friend

from this day, today, I want you to stay

stay with me my friend, please, don't go away

if we can make it through this storm

we can make it through anything, together

forever we will always be

if we can only see the sunshine through the rain

mourning the loss of my old friend

reminiscing on how things used to be

longing for the good ol' days

I wanna be set free from all the pain

I don't like the rain

till the bitter end you are my friend

from this day, today, I want you to stay

please, stay with me my friend

please, don't ever go away

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Dana Toliver

I wrote my first poem in 1990 not relaizing it would be the beginning to my forthcoming book titled SOUL SEARCH'N; the story of my life journey told through peoms and short stories. The content I post here are from my book.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.