Poets logo

Today, I Learned I'm Selfish

words of the unsatisfied

By Brin J.Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
46
*unsplash* ben-blennerhasset

I've asked myself a million times,

is this it?

I drown out the echo of that thought,

not wanting to hear it

To hear it means to face the answer

Reality is too harsh for me

I found my soul is happier between the pages of a book

Words are my escape

Yet I do not wish to leave my world,

for I've found beauty in its most simple things

You cannot tell me it's lost its charm

when clouds look like cotton candy

There are orange sunsets that feel like fire

and an earthy smell that comes with rain

Laughing stars wink at me from the heavens

and then there's the affection that wind gives the trees

There's no such thing as a mundane moment

not when you're in love with all that surrounds you

Today, I learned I'm selfish

I want both

But putting these two things together

would require magic- a thing that does not exist

How do I find that place where I can have everything?

Where do I go to obtain this relief?

I sit in my living room contemplating,

staring out the window as cars pass on the street

My coffee has gone untouched for a while

cold now as I sink deeper into this reverie

I watch as birds fly by in a flurry,

waiting for the answer to come to me

Ah, I know

Sleep

Perhaps I'll find fulfillment in my dreams

sad poetrynature poetry
46

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. 📖

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    I could relate to this so much too! Perhaps they could run in parallel rather than merge, like the pinstripes on a sports car, complimenting each other all the way to make a bold statement.

  • rose amy4 months ago

    Great

  • ROCK 6 months ago

    Powerful and sombre; well written truth from the heart.

  • Aaron Richmond6 months ago

    Oh now, see? You're a wonderful writer, and now I'm all blushing over your praise

  • Andie Emerson7 months ago

    Beautiful lines, congrats on your Top Story!!

  • Sugan Ya 7 months ago

    Lovely poem...I loved it. Congratulations on Top story ..

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Not feeing the social media/vocal vibe today, but I was sat waiting at the opticians and had to pass time - and this is what I read, and I felt it so much, like, did I write this? Certainly, I felt this.

  • Mind blowing totally

  • Very good

  • Test7 months ago

    Congratulations on TS

  • Syeda Razi Fatima7 months ago

    you deserve to join the Vocal Awards https://tinyurl.com/3cjr6788

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    So simple and effective.... Well-deserved TS!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    This is beautiful. Congrats on the TS.

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    This was so gorgeous. Please be selfish 💕

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Perfect ending to your poem!!! Fabulously written!!! Love it!!!

  • Carol Townend7 months ago

    This poem really makes you think. Are we really selfish for wanting it all?

  • Stephanie Hoogstad7 months ago

    This is sad and yet also uplifting because you can find beauty in what others would call mundane as well as in the pages of a book. The feelings of this poem are so complex, and the imagery is so vivid. Well done, and congrats on the Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Ah, but magic does exist - in the pages we read and those we write. It's right here in what you've written. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    This is outstanding, Brin! You should be very proud of this. The imagery, the bit LC picked out is so vivid and gave me the feels and it is sad, but beautiful in its sadness. Just,...mumble over, yeah, this is great. Congrats on Top Story - thoroughly deserved!

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    A little selfishness is OK 👍 I love this bit - there are orange sunsets that feel like fire 😁

  • Ashley Lima8 months ago

    All too relatable. Well crafted!

  • Sleep is the best thing ever. It helps escape reality. Loved your poem!

  • Ian Read8 months ago

    This poem is as melancholic as it is relatable. I would be lying if I said I weren't often caught in flights of fantasy, wishing one iota of that magic was real. Such brilliant writing!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    You’re an amazing writer! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.