Poets logo

To See Misty Dance!

Women's History Month

By Zari's DiaryPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Misty Copeland, American Ballet Theater's first black principle dancer.

I wrote this poem for Misty and other black ballerinas making their mark on history. I wanted to pay tribute to misty by acknowledging her contributions to ballet.

In the poem, I address misty by her name and the names of two characters she has portrayed on stage. I did this to highlight the roles that changed Misty's career. The Firebird, and Odette from Swan Lake are two roles that set the tone for Misty.

Although Misty Copeland is my favorite ballerina, I never seen her perform live on stage. So, I imagined what it would feel like to see her dance live. Thurs, the poem was written. I hope you enjoy!

Caption: Ballerina, Precious Adams.

POEM:

To see Misty dance is to see me and other brown girls

To see Misty dance is to witness a dream realized

To see Misty dance is to believe in believe

To see the Firebird (Misty) dance is to chase a blue flame of dreams

To see the Firebird (Misty) dance is to envision yourself gliding through adversity

To see the Firebird (Misty) dance is to demolish iniquity

To see Odette (Misty) dance is to acknowledge a brown girl's crown

to see Odette (Misty) dance is to see a swirl of black beauty

To see Odette (Misty) dance is to unearth black diamonds in ballet

To see Misty, Michaela, Precious... dance is to dance in a rainbow of shades

To see Misty dance is to break walls and open doors

To see Misty dance is to never miss an impossible beat

To see Misty dance is to be on point.

Caption: Ballerina, Michaela DePrince.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Zari's Diary

Hey everyone! I'm Zari welcome to my diary! I started this blog to express and discuss my passion for writing, crochet, art, singing, dance, and poetry! Yes! I'm very talented! Follow me as I create!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.