Poets logo

To My Dad

my dad, my hero

By AstraldreamerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I was lost and alone in a world so cruel.

With a mother so evil and her boyfriend a fool.

I was young and naive. I knew not what to do.

I tried to commit suicide but then I found you.

My parent. My father my dad. My guide.

My hero my courage my strength.

You showed me how a parent should be.

Loved me in a way that was naturally.

All I had known was hurt and abuse.

But then I was blessed because I found you.

You helped me heal from years of torment.

Told me how much to you

I'd always meant.

Guiding and protecting me all the years through.

And i always felt safe because I found you.

From daughter to father I need you to know.

Thank you for rescuing me and letting me grow.

Into the strong woman I am to day

That's something I really wanted you to know.

God knows where I'd be if I never left that day.

I dread to think what if things had happened that way.

But I guess it's ok. That's not what I need to do.

It didn't turn out that way.

Because I found you.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Astraldreamer

im a 43 year old single mum of two autistic adult children.

i love angels, crystals, candles, law of attraction, dreams and the paranormal.

I love being near deep blue sea.

I love animals and currently have 4 cats, 2 dogs and 2 rabbits.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.