Poets logo

To Grow Old

The violence and pain of aging.

By Laura LannPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Sensational Challenge
7
To Grow Old
Photo by Julia Kadel on Unsplash

I taste the blood of my youth,

Coppery soot and rotten truth

All mix in my mouth to scream

I feel gravel bite at my seam.

Right into my core with each

Bellow that breaks from reach

Of their pounding fist and hungry

Hands that with me do not agree.

I hear my wailing cry like a siren

Echoed back as a laughing grin

Jeers over me to haunt my wake,

And my childhood it does take

To drown deep within the river

And to me adulthood deliver.

They shove deeper, harder,

Rip from me my daughter.

I see dirt pressed into my cheek.

To death do I knock and seek?

And shadows lumber near

Like monsters to appear

Before dreams spill to sunlight

That may chase away the night.

But, no day is to come

Far, they blot out the sun.

Their hands are at my elbow,

Whispering of what is below.

I smell the curse of putrid rot

And lose the last of my thought.

social commentarysad poetry
7

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Aphotic11 months ago

    This is amazing. Congratulations. It really becomes a painful struggle. Internally and externally.

  • A. Lenae11 months ago

    You gave terror and angst and growing pains such color and feel. What a beautiful poem that just takes on its own shape. This is what poetry should do, and this is how it should shake and captivate us. Well done! Congratulations!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Oh nicely done!! Congratulations!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    I think this might be my favourite. Congratulations.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.